Unemployment Compensation Review Commission
Questions & Answers
What is the Review Commission?

The Review Commission is composed of three members appointed by the Governor, a staff of attorney/hearing officers, and support staff. The Commission reviews ODJFS unemployment compensation decisions and may affirm, reverse or modify these decisions.

Is the Review Commission a part of the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS)?

No. The Review Commission is a separate agency and operates independently of the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS).

What is the purpose of the hearing?

The purpose of the hearing is to gather all of the facts necessary to correctly decide the case based upon the unemployment compensation laws of the State of Ohio.

How will I know the date, time and location of the hearing?

You will receive a hearing notice advising you of the date, time and location of your hearing at least 7 days prior to your hearing. It is important that you read the notice carefully and do not miss your hearing. If you are the appealing party and you miss your hearing, your case will be dismissed.

Where will the hearing take place?

Hearings are conducted by telephone unless the claimant requests an in-person hearing . A request for an in-person hearing must be filed within 10 days of the mail date listed on the Notice that an Appeal has been transferred to the Review Commission. A claimant working during the day may request an evening hearing. Night hearings are always conducted by telephone, and are scheduled Monday through Thursday, between 5:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m.

What if I am unable to attend the hearing?

You must contact the Review Commission at our toll free number 1-866-833-8272 to request a postponement of your hearing. You must have good cause for postponement. For more information about rescheduling your hearing and the good cause criteria, view our postponement policy.

How can I prepare for my hearing?

You may obtain a paper copy of your ODJFS file by mailing your request to the U.C. Review Commission along with a check or Money Order for $5.85. To request a free electronic copy of your file send an e-mail to filecopy@jfs.ohio.gov. In the body of your e-mail request include your name, the name of the claimant, UCRC Docket Number or OJI Determination number being appealed, telephone number where you can be reached, and the e-mail address you want the file sent to. After the hearing, you may also obtain a copy of the recorded hearing (either on audiotape or CD) by mailing your request to the U.C. Review Commission with a check or Money Order for $15.00. Your check should be made out to ODJFS.

How can I locate a representative?

The Review Commission cannot recommend a representative. However, your local bar association can refer you to a private attorney. If you cannot afford a private attorney, your local Legal Aid office may be able to provide help at no cost. You can contact your local Legal Aid office by calling 1-866-LAW-OHIO (1-866-529-6446) or by searching the Legal Aid directory at http://ohiolegalservices.org/programs on the internet. If you wish to be represented, it is important that you arrange for a representative as soon as possible. Various service companies are available to represent employers. You will find their telephone numbers in the Yellow Pages, listed under Workers Compensation or Unemployment Compensation Representatives.
What should I bring with me to the hearing?

The hearing officer will consider any relevant evidence. You should bring witnesses and documents that support your case. Witnesses may be subpoenaed by writing to the Review Commission, calling our toll free number 1-866-833-8272, faxing to 614-387-3694 or e-mailing to UCRC_FAX@jfs.ohio.gov . The Commission will issue three subpoenas. Identify the most important three witnesses needed on your subpoena request. At the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing officer will decide whether additional witnesses are necessary.

What can I expect at the hearing?

Most hearings are scheduled for 45 minutes. The hearing officer will record the hearing. Hearing procedures will be explained at the start of the hearing. All witnesses, including the claimant and the employer, will be sworn and questioned about the issues set forth in the hearing notice. All parties will be given the opportunity to ask questions of the witnesses. Relevant documents may be offered for consideration by the hearing officer. Each side will be given time for a brief closing statement. The hearing officer's decision will be based upon the evidence admitted at the hearing and the information in the ODJFS file. The decision will be mailed to the parties. Further information about the hearing process and applicable laws can be found in Chapter 4141 of the Ohio Revised Code and Chapter 4146 of the Ohio Administrative Code. These reference materials are available at your public library. You can also view the UC Law Abstract and Policies & Procedures sections on this web site for further information.

How is a telephone hearing conducted?

Documentation must be sent to the Commission before the hearing. Copies must also be provided to all other interested parties and their representatives. You will be instructed to call a designated number 15 minutes before your scheduled hearing. Provide the hearing assistant with your telephone number and the telephone numbers of your witnesses. The hearing officer will join the parties in a conference call. The telephone hearing will be recorded.

When will I get a decision?

The Review Commission conducts in excess of 600 hearings per week. Your decision will be issued as soon as possible.

What if I disagree with the decision?

Either party may appeal the hearing officer's decision to the Review Commission within twenty-one (21) days after the date the decision is mailed. The Commission may affirm the decision, reverse the decision without further hearing, or order another hearing. After a Commission level decision is issued, the parties have appeal rights to the Common Pleas Court.

What if I wish to withdraw my appeal?

The appealing party may withdraw his/her appeal anytime prior to the date the decision is issued. Mail, fax, e-mail or deliver to the Review Commission a short statement indicating your desire to withdraw your appeal.